Motor Vehicle Registration

Vehicle Registration

All motor vehicles, mobile homes and trailers in the State of Florida must be registered, and/or titled. It is the responsibility of the Tax Collector, in his capacity as agent for the Department of Motorist Services, to provide the necessary services and operation to accomplish this.

License Plate Renewal

Renew Registration Online

Vehicles are registered on a staggered basis according to the registered owner’s birth month. The registration expires at midnight on the owner’s birthday. Exceptions are mobile home registrations, which are renewed in December; company owned vehicles must be renewed in June; truck-tractors, semi-trailers, trucks over 5000 lbs. that are titled in the name of a business and 9 passenger and over automobiles for hire, which must be renewed in December; lease vehicles which renew on a staggered basis throughout the year. The Tax Collector must check proof of insurance on all motor vehicles, except trailers and motorcycles. A delinquent fee is imposed on persons failing to timely register these vehicles. Renewals can be made three months in advance.

License Plate

Florida uses a metal plate with a series of alpha numeric numbering systems, or combination thereof, depending on the type of vehicle. The renewal sticker, denoting the birth month and year, is placed in the upper right hand corner. You have an option to request a plate that's embossed with Highlands, Sunshine State or In God We Trust on the bottom. Plates are kept for a ten year period. On the 11th year of renewal, a new plate and decal are issued.

Proof of Insurance

Proof of Florida insurance is required to purchase a license plate in Florida. The minimum insurance requirement is Personal injury protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 and at least $10,000 in protection damage liability (PDL) insurance. Commercial trucks require additional insurance. Contact the Tax Collector’s Office for information.

Change of Address

In order to maintain accurate records, and to help ensure that each registered owner receives a tag renewal notice, all changes of address must be reported to the Tax Collector’s Office within 10 days.

NOTE: It is the responsibility of each registered owner to see that the registration is kept current.

Initial Registration

A $225.00 Initial Registration fee is imposed the first time a license plate is purchased for a vehicle. This applies to private automobiles, motor homes, trucks less than 5,000 pounds.

Verification of Vehicle Identification Numbers

All motor vehicles with an out of state title must have the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verified by a Florida motor vehicle dealer, law enforcement officer (any state), military police officer or Florida notary public or this service may also be done at the Tax Collector’s office. Contact the Tax Collector’s Office for more information.


Annual license taxes, for the operation of a motor vehicle as defined in F.S. 320.01 shall be paid upon registration or re-registration. The following are 12-month rates with FIRST TIME Initial Registration fee of $225.00 plus a metal plate fee of $28.00.

Automobile (Private Use) Weight


under 2500 lbs.


2500 through 3499 lbs.


3500 lbs. or more


Lightweight Trucks (Private Use) Weight


under 1999 lbs.


2000 through 3000 lbs.


3001 through 5000 lbs.


Motorcycle & Mopeds






Travel Trailer


Less Than 36 FT


36 FT or More




Less Than 500 LBS


500 LBS or More (Add $1.00 per additional 100 Lbs.)


Replacement License Plate and Decal Fees


Replacement Plate


Replacement Decal


Replacement Registration


Mobile Home


Up to 35 FT


36 FT – 40 FT


41 FT – 45 FT


46 FT - 50 FT


51 FT – 55 FT


56 FT – 60 FT


61 FT - 65 FT


66 FT and Up


Mail Fee

The decal and registration receipt can be mailed to the owner for a $0.90 mail fee. Metal tags can be mailed for $5.45 mail fee. These amounts must be added to the annual rates.

Florida Personalized Tags

Personalized Tags are ordered from the Tax Collector’s Office. Cost of the tag is $60.00 the first year in addition to the annual tax and fees. After the first year the cost is $15.00 per year plus annual tax and fees. Personalized tags may be ordered for private or company owned cars, trucks, motor homes, motorcycles, leased vehicles and trailers.

Specialty Tags

Upon approval by the Florida Legislature, a new specialty plate is required to sell a minimum number of reservations or vouchers. This process ensures that there is sufficient interest to warrant the manufacture of the plate. For many new plates, that pre-sale number is 3,000. Out-of-state colleges and universities must sell 4,000 vouchers.Once a sufficient number of vouchers have been sold, the license plate may then be submitted to the Florida Department of Highway Safety (DHSMV) for production. Pre-sale vouchers may be purchased at any of our office locations.


Contact your Tax Collector’s Office at (863) 402-6685 for detailed information on available tags such as sports teams, college and universities, special projects and endangered species.

Driving Test Appointment

Motorist Services

Driving tests are provided in all of our offices.

Schedule a Driving Test Appointment