a family in a car

Important Dates & Deadlines – Motor Vehicles

Important Dates & Deadlines – Motor Vehicles Your Birthday Renewal of motor vehicle license plate, which expires at midnight of the owners birthday. Renewals are accepted 90 days prior to your birth month. This applies to passenger cars, recreational vehicles, trucks titled in a personal name, small trailers and motorcycles. Private vessel/boat registrations also expire at this time. May Registration …

a family in a car

Motor Vehicle Forms

Motor Vehicle Forms Application For Motor Vehicle Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form: 82040-MV) Application For Mobile Home Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form: 82040-MH) Application For Vessel Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (Form: 82040-VS) Application For Duplicate or Lost In Transit/Reassignment For a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate (Form: 82101) Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification …

a family in a car

Motor Vehicle Registration

Motor Vehicle Registration Vehicle Registration All motor vehicles, mobile homes and trailers in the State of Florida must be registered, and/or titled. It is the responsibility of the Tax Collector, in his capacity as agent for the Department of Motorist Services, to provide the necessary services and operation to accomplish this. License Plate Renewal Renew Registration Online Vehicles are registered …

a family in a car

Vessel General Information

Vessel General Information All Florida boats 16′ or greater in length or any boats used with motors must be titled and registered, and issued a decal, which must be affixed to the PORT side of the boat. The title fee is from $8.25 to $12.25, lien recording fee is $1.00, transfer of Florida vessel number $1.00, and the registration fee …

a family in a car

Disabled Parking Permits

Disabled Parking Permits A placard can be issued to an individual or organizations that transport individuals with disabilities. The parking permit entitles the applicant to utilize handicap parking spaces. The placard is transferable to any vehicle transporting the disabled person. The placard is to be hung on the rear view mirror when using the designated parking spaces. Applicants and their …

a family in a car

Motor Vehicle Titles

Motor Vehicle Titles All applications for title transfer must be signed with applicant’s full name, if required. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days of the date the vehicle is assigned by the owner or a $20.00 penalty is levied at the time of transfer. The title fee is $75.75 (or $85.75 out of state) if electronically …

a family in a car

Driver’s License Services

Driver’s License Services Renew Driver’s License Online Our offices provide the following services to all customers. Original Florida Driver Licenses/ID Cards Renewal of Florida Driver Licenses/ID Cards Replacement Florida Driver Licenses/ID Cards Reinstatements Driver’s License/ID services for Out-of-County residents require an appointment.   The following services are available to Highlands County Residents ONLY. Learners Permit Written Exams  CDL Written Exams …

a family in a car

Motorist Services

Motorist Services The Highlands County Tax Collector’s Office is an agent for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The office offers a variety of Motorist Services ranging from issuing Driver Licenses and ID Cards to renewing vehicle and vessel registrations. Please note that not all office locations offer all Motorist Services. For more information on this please …