a family in a car

Motor Vehicle Titles

Motor Vehicle Titles All applications for title transfer must be signed with applicant’s full name, if required. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days of the date the vehicle is assigned by the owner or a $20.00 penalty is levied at the time of transfer. The title fee is $75.75 (or $85.75 out of state) if electronically …

a family in a car

Driver’s License Services

Driver’s License Services Renew Driver’s License Online Our offices provide the following services: Original Florida Driver Licenses/ID Cards Renewal of Florida Driver Licenses/ID Cards Replacement Florida Driver Licenses/ID Cards Learners Permit Written Exams Driving Test Reinstatements CDL Written Exams Medical Driving Test All Driving Tests and all Out-of-County Driver’s License/ID services require an appointment Sebring Office: Monday – FridayLake Placid …

a family in a car

Motorist Services

Motorist Services The Highlands County Tax Collector’s Office is an agent for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The office offers a variety of Motorist Services ranging from issuing Driver Licenses and ID Cards to renewing vehicle and vessel registrations. Please note that not all office locations offer all Motorist Services. For more information on this please …

a family in a car

Property Tax Reports

Property Tax Reports Report links below will open a new tab in your browser and load the requested report, or provide a direct download to a CSV-formatted file.If results contain over 2000 records, only the first 2000 will be shown, but the full report can be downloaded from the page as well in CSV, XLSX, or JSON format by clicking …

a family in a car

Exemptions & Confidentiality Request

Exemptions & Confidentiality Request Exemptions For property tax exemption information, please visit the Property Appraiser’s website. Confidentiality Request To request confidential status, per Florida Statutes 119.071(4)(d), for property tax and/or tangible tax please contact the Property Appraiser’s Office at (863) 402-6659. To request confidential status for Department of Motor Vehicles and/or Driver’s Licenses, you will need to contact the Bureau …

a family in a car

Property Tax Address Change

Property Tax Address Change Address changes are the responsibility of the Highlands County Property Appraiser and must be submitted to their office directly.  We are unable to forward your request because the Property Appraiser’s office requires the request be made directly by the taxpayer.  They can be reached on their website at www.hcpao.org or contacted by phone at (863) 402-6659.   …

a family in a car

Homestead Tax Deferral Program

Homestead Tax Deferral Program The program is designed to assist homestead tax exempt taxpayers to defer a portion of their property taxes. The amount that can be deferred is based on age and the adjusted gross income of all members of the household: If the last year’s adjusted gross income for all members of the household was less than $10,000. …

a family in a car

Tax Deed Process

Tax Deed Process If you are a certificate/lien holder and wish to obtain a quote and/or apply for a tax deed, please click here – RealTDA.  All questions pertaining to navigating this site must be directed to RealAuction. Things you may want to know about the Tax Deed Process A Tax Deed Application (TDA) (Florida Statute 197.502) is the sale of …

a family in a car

Purchasing County Held Certificates

Purchasing County Held Certificates Certificates that do not sell at the tax certificate sale become property of the County and are available for purchase through our vendor RealAuction.  County held certificates are not available for purchase while our vendor is preparing for the annual tax certificate sale to be held on June 1.  County held certificates are generally available for …

a family in a car

Tax Certificate Information

Tax Certificate Information About Tax Certificates A Tax Certificate is a enforceable first lien against property for unpaid real estate taxes.  It is not a purchase of property.Florida statutes require the Tax Collector conduct a sale of tax certificates beginning on or before June 1st for the preceding year’s delinquent real estate taxes.Prior to the tax certificate sale, the Tax …