All applications for title transfer must be signed with applicant’s full name, if required. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days of the date the vehicle is assigned by the owner or a $20.00 penalty is levied at the time of transfer. The title fee is $75.75 (or $85.75 out of state) if electronically maintained by the State. An additional fee of $2.50 will apply if a paper title is to be mailed. For each lien recorded, there is a $2.00 fee. The purchasers name, selling price and odometer reading, must be completed, in the appropriate spaces provided.
All new vehicles must have a C.O. (Certificate of Origin) or MSO (Manufacture Statement of Origin) which must be signed by a licensed dealer(s) for transfer to buyer. The C.O. or MSO is attached to DHSMV Form 82040 or 82041, an application for Florida Title, which must be properly completed with owner’s complete name and Florida address, date of birth, drivers license number, complete description of vehicle and any lien to be recorded.
VEHICLES FROM A FOREIGN STATE:
An out of state title or registration ( if not a title state) must be submitted as proof of ownership and if transfer of ownership is involved, it must be properly assigned indicating new owner’s name and address. Verification of vehicle I.D. number is required. The application for Florida Title, must be properly completed. Owner(s) or purchaser(s) must sign this Form or give power of attorney. Also, title fees, lien fee, and initial registration fees must be paid, if applicable.
Purchaser must furnish a properly assigned Florida Title to the Tax Collector’s Office for transfer. Also the purchaser must furnish proper picture identification, date of birth, and proof of Florida insurance to purchase tag.
FAST TITLE SERVICE:
We offer fast title service in our offices which allows us to print a title at the time of the transaction providing there is no lien on the vehicle. This also applies to duplicate titles. There is an additional $10.00 fee for this service. This service provides customers with their title immediately and eliminates the need to wait for the title to be mailed from Tallahassee.
A duplicate title may be obtained by completing a DMV Form 82101. It must be signed and submitted to the Tax Collector, who forwards it to the state, with a $78.25 fee. The application must be signed by the lien holder if an outstanding lien exits.
MISCELLANEOUS TITLE APPLICATIONS AND TRANSFERS:
Contact the Tax Collector’s Office for information on miscellaneous title applications and transfers such as Death of Owner, Court Orders, Change of Name, Repossessions, Rebuilt Vehicles, and Bankruptcy.
Sales tax as required by Chapter 212, Florida Statutes is 6% of the purchase price, less trade in, if any. Gifts, trade down or even trade, order of court in divorce proceedings, inheritance, transfer to immediate family, change of name only, etc. , may be exempt from sales tax. Highlands County imposes a 1% county optional sales tax on the first $5,000.